Bible · Christian · Faith · God · Grace · Jesus

Wish in vain or Hope in knowledge!

we boast in the hope of the glory of God’ (Romans 5:2 NIV)

 

When times are tough, as they are now with the COVID 19 virus pandemic, what do you do, or who do you look to for comfort?

Do you worry about work or lack of it, do you worry about your finances, or how you will educate and entertain the children throughout the day for those who now have to become part-time teachers, or during the on-set of the virus, was it the more basic needs such as here can I get my groceries from?

During these tough times, what is your hope, how do you keep yourself positive that there will be an end to the situation, or that those things will get better?

It can be hard to be positive and hope for a good outcome if we do not trust anything other than ourselves or what we can see or touch.

In the beginning, God made the earth and rested on the Sabbath (the seventh day), but before he rested, he looked at all that he had created by the end of the sixth day, and he declared that it was good;

it was very good’ (Genesis 1:31 ESV).

So God created a perfect world for us to live in, a world with which he was very happy, it was just as he wanted it, land and water in a perfect balance, animals and flowers, and mankind.

So what did we do with this perfect world that was working in beautiful harmony?

We broke it. Adam and Eve disobeyed God and got cast out from the ‘Garden of Eden’ (Genesis 3).

So now the world has pain, suffering and disease in it, people work hard and labour for long hours in order to get money to survive (Genesis 3:17 – 19), women suffer in child (Genesis 3:16). Now we suffer because Adam and Eve did not listen to God.

But God loves us still, and so Jesus came to the earth to show us what to do, and how we should live, and also to give us a hope that things will be better;

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life’ (John 3:16 ESV).

Eventually the earth will be remade;

Then I saw “a new heaven and a new earth”, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away’ (Revelation 5:1 NIV).

And all suffering as we know it will stop;

He will wipe away every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain’ (Revelation 21:4 NIV).

As Christians, our hope is fully in Jesus Christ who saves us, and it is an eternal hope that one day, all things will be made better and we will live with him forever.

So eventually, at the end of time, Jesus will return and everything will return to what it once was;

So there is hope.

There is always hope, we only have to look within the pages of our handbook, The Bible to find it.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD’ (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV).

So our life has a plan that we should seek; we should ask God to reveal his plan to us. We do not have to wait for certain times or places to be before we call to God, we can ask whenever we want to, for we are never really alone;

I will never leave you’ (Hebrews 13:5 ESV).

So we can call out to God all the time if we wish, we can thank him for the good days that we have when everything is ‘rainbows and unicorns’, but we can also cry out in anguish when we are suffering with trials and temptations.

In the morning, LORD you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you’ (Psalm 5:3 NIV).

Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer’ (Psalm 61:1 ESV).

But if we trust God, then he will show us what we need to see, and teach us what we need to know;

I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go’ (Psalm 32:8 NIV).

Turn to God and put our trust in the creator of the universe, for he will save you;

‘whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life’ (John 3:16 – emphasis mine).

So our hope is in Jesus;

For God alone my soul waits in silence, for my hope is from him’ (Psalm 62:5 RSV).

In Jesus, we have the following;

Our past forgiven, a purpose for living and a hope in heaven’ (Pastor Rick Warren).

IMG_0143

 

There is a song, I know it well.
A melody that’s never failed,
On mountains high, in valleys low
My soul will rest, my confidence, in You alone

Hope has a name, His name is Jesus
My Saviour’s cross has set this sinner free
Hope has a name, His name is Jesus
Oh, Christ be praised, I have victory

There is a light, salvation’s flame
Christ undefeated, trampled the grave
See now the cross, be lifted high
The light has come, the light has won, behold the Christ

There’ll be a day my hope complete
Now home in glory, Your face I’ll see
My pain no more, my fear will cease
I bow my life, I fix my eyes, on Christ my King
I bow my life, I fix my eyes, on Christ my King

There is a song I know it well (Hope has a name)

Benjamin Cruise, Evan John, Ryan Williams

 

download

 

Father, we thank you that you sent your Son to die for us. We realise that we do not deserve this gift, but thank you for the hope of eternal life with you. Lord we look to you for how to live, we look to you for how to love. Lord we look to you for everything. Help us to be better people and show you in all we do to the other people we meet.

Amen

Leave a comment