Bible · Christian · Faith · Father · God

Auto Draft

800×600 Normal 0 false false false EN-GB X-NONE X-NONE

I’ve heard a thousand stories of what they think You’re like
(Good, Good Father – T. Brown, P. Barrett – 2016)

 

 

When I was younger, many years ago, I remember that I had to do many things alone; it was not that I did not have any friends or siblings, but some things I wanted to do with my father but he was not there.

As youngsters, we crave our father’s attention, but mine had gone. This was through no fault of his, for he had died at a young age, but this still left a rather large hole in my life.

My mother was still around, but a teenager trying to ‘gel’ with his mother just did not work, and I became an angry kid, and felt that the pressure of growing up had now been forced upon me.

Fast forward many years and I too became a father to three amazing kids, not amazing because they did or do anything, but amazing because all life is God given, and therefore amazing.

Equally, I did just the thing that my father had done to me, but this time it was worse because it was a choice I made.

I have no delusions about my score out of 10 for being a father, I failed big time. There were mitigating factors in my leaving, but leave I did, and by leaving, failed my children! I did still speak to them and visit them regularly but I was not ‘there’.

When look back to my childhood, and my parenthood, one thing sticks out, neither my father nor me as a father, were or are perfect. That is a sobering thought.

I remember a few years ago, visiting a local church that was having a men’s night, and the watched a film called ‘Courageous (2011 – Affirm Films, Provident Films, Sherwood Pictures).

I left that night with the words of Stephen Amell’s character ‘Oliver Queen’  ringing in my ears when his character would say to some ‘bad guy’ ‘You have failed this city’ (Arrow 2010-2020 – The CW). I realised how much I had failed my children.

It is not all doom and gloom though, my relationship with my children is good, but it could always be better. I may not be a perfect father, but I am available to my children through modern technology, wherever and whenever they need me.

As I got older, and started to look at The Bible, I soon realised that even though I had felt alone as a child, I was not;

because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you”. So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper” ‘ (Hebrews 13:5-6 NIV).

We are not alone, even when we do feel alone, God is with us. And even better than that, we read in the Psalms;

I will proclaim the LORD’S decree: He said to me, “You are my son; today I have become your father” ‘ (Psalm 2::7 NIV).

I was thrilled when I read that!

Even though I have no earthly dad, God is my heavenly Father, a father that will surpass all earthly fathers, even if they tried 100% all the time, at some point they would get it wrong, God never will. God does not make mistakes.

God chose me, before anything was done, before he even spoke creation into being, I was loved and chosen by God;

And he chose us to be his very own, joining us to himself even before he laid the foundation of the universe’ (Ephesians 1:4 TPT).

And when he had chosen us and then spoke creation into being, he took choosing us, one step further;

then God said, “Let us make man in our own image, after our likeness” ‘ (Genesis 1:26 ESV).

And while we were being formed in God’s image;

My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body’ (Psalm 139:15-16 NIV).

Just look at how special we are, chosen before anything happened, and then we were formed by God in His image.

Take a minute and drink that in.

We are intimately known by God!

Earthly fathers are great, they will probably love you, play games with you, help with homework, until it gets too difficult; and generally they will try their best in all things (well, most will). Most will try to be there for important occasions, or when you need them most, but at times, life and work will get in the way of these things.

But, your heavenly father is perfect, he will always be available, 24-7, and there will never be a time when God is not available to you; you can talk to him any time, and any place. God will never promise you something and renege on it;

so shall my word be that goes out of my mouth; it shall not return to me empty’ (Isaiah 55:11 ESV).

If God says something, then that is what will be. It may not be when we want it, but it will be at some point.

So to all those out there that are feeling sad, lonely, unloved, depressed and alone, I say, turn to God and let him be the perfect Father to you, he loves you already, all he wants is for you to turn to him and call out to him, then he will answer just as he did to the Psalmist;

“You are my son (daughter); today I have become your father” ‘ (Psalm 2:7 NIV – addition mine).

img_0142

 

Oh, I’ve heard a thousand stories of what they think You’re like
But I’ve heard the tender whisper of love in the dead of night
And You tell me that You’re pleased and that I’m never alone

 Oh, and I’ve seen many searching for answers far and wide
But I know we’re all searching for answers only You provide
‘Cause You know just what we need before we say a word

 You’re a good, good Father
It’s who You are, it’s who You are, it’s who You are
And I’m loved by You
It’s who I am, it’s who I am, it’s who I am

Because You are perfect in all of Your ways
You are perfect in all of Your ways
You are perfect in all of Your ways to us


Oh, it’s love so undeniable, I, I can hardly speak

Peace so unexplainable, I, I can hardly think
As You call me deeper still
As You call me deeper still
As You call me deeper still into love, love, love

 

Good Good Father

Tony Brown, Pat Barrett

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ak0OoFBw3c

 

download

Father we thank you for everything that we have because we know that all we have comes from you. We especially thank you for being the perfect Father even though we do not deserve this. Everyone has not experienced the love and security of a good earthly father, but we know that when we turn to you, you are always there for us, guiding and teaching, and loving us, even when we fail. Lord we love you.

Amen

One thought on “Auto Draft

  1. You are a good dad to your kids and are there for them when they need you, even if you cant be physically with them
    Thankyou for your honesty in your blog. It is much appreciated and its important for us all to be reminded sometimes of the perfect love of our good, good Father

    Like

Leave a comment