Bible · Christian · Faith · God · Grace · Jesus

Trust in God – be strong

But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt(James 1:6 NIV)

Have you ever doubted something that you have ever seen or been told?

If something you see or read generally seems too good to be true, then most times it is. In Star Trek there is a race called the Ferengi, and they have numerous rules which serve as guides for ll aspects of life, and one of them is;

Hear all, trust nothing’ (Ferengi Rules of Acquisition – 190 – https://memory-alpha.fandom.com/wiki/Rules_of_Acquisition – accessed 22/03/2020).

I am not saying that we should not trust anything that we hear, but the Bible does give us some instruction on what to do if we are not sure about what we hear, it says;

test the spirits to see whether they are from God’ (1 John 4:1 ESV).

This is especially true in the current situation that we as a world find ourselves in. We should not believe everything that we read, because some is there to scare us into acting in panic. Trust God that he has got the situation.

Some people may ask why God allows things like this to happen, but we must remember, that we, as humans, specifically Adam and Eve, broke the world by disobeying God, and eating what they should not have. God said to them;

What is this you have done?’ (Genesis 3:13 NIV).

Since then, God cursed the serpent for placing doubt into their minds, he made life more difficult, and cursed the land (Genesis 3:14-19); all this made our life harder than it was supposed to be, and it is all because we did not faithfully trust God, Adam and Eve doubted.

When we have doubts, and let’s face it, does anyone go through their life without them at some points? When we have doubts we should be like the nation of Israel were told to be, specifically Joshua, as he prepared to lead them across the Jordan.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go’ (Joshua 1:9 ESV).

So, as Joshua and the nation of Israel, we should not be dismayed or frightened, but we should be strong and courageous.

Even more so, because God did not say “On your good days be strong” or “when you win battles be courageous”, it was an order;

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous’ (Joshua 1:9 ESV).

So it is not some flimsy request by a whimsical god, it is a command, from the creator of the universe, who promises to always be with us wherever we are and wherever we go, we know this, and the nation of Israel knew this;

The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you’ (Deuteronomy 31:8 NIV).

 So whatever situation you find yourselves in the coming weeks or months as this situation progresses, trust in the Lord, do not doubt him, for he is with you.

Read his word, link via the internet or phone to other Christians to support and encourage each other, and most importantly talk to God, tell him how you feel, scared, alone, concerned about work or finances. God wants us to tell him things like that, that is how we build a deeper relationship with our God.

img_0142

 

Who am I, that the Lord of all the earth
Would care to know my name
Would care to feel my hurt
Who am I, that the Bright and Morning Star
Would choose to light the way
For my ever wand’ring heart

Not because of who I am
But because of what You’ve done
Not because of what I’ve done
But because of who You are

I am a flower quickly fading
Here today and gone tomorrow
A wave tossed in the ocean
A vapour in the wind
Still You hear me when I’m calling
Lord, You catch me when I’m falling
And You’ve told me who I am

Who am I, that the eyes that see my sin
Would look on me with love
And watch me rise again
Who am I, that the voice that calmed the sea
Would call out through the rain
And calm the storm in me

Who Am I

Mark Hall

download

Lord thank you that even in our doubt, you are still faithful. Lord we ask that you strengthen us to stay strong in you and stay faithful to your teaching in the words of The Bible. Lord we need you now more than ever. Lord we love you and lay our lives at your feet.

Amen

Leave a comment