Bible · Christian · Faith · Father · God · Grace · Jesus · Mercy

Past, Present or Future, Where to live??

When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be’ (Lao Tzu)

How often do you remember the past?

I sometimes find myself thinking back, but for me that is a good thing although sometimes it can affect my mood negatively, for I think back to periods of loss within the family.

Retrospective thinking can be good when we use it to grow, to learn from the past.

In the past, we learn lessons by making mistakes, but we must not dwell on or in the past, but use it to fuel our future growth.

We should not live in the past, only learn from it; we learn from the past, and with that learning we prepare for the future, but we should always live in the present.

I read something many years ago, and it summed up this sentiment quite well;

Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift, that is why it is called the present’ (Bil Keane).

Some people have difficulty in letting go of the past, myself included. There have been times, days and weeks, where I could just not understand or comprehend that fact that Jesus forgave what I had done, that he forgave me and discarded the sin I had committed into the deepest pit there is;

you will tread our sins underfoot and hurl our iniquities into the depths of the ocean’ (Micah 7:19 NIV).

For a long time, I could just not understand how Jesus could forgive me, when I did not forgive myself. I had changed and turned from my sin, but could not get past it, it was like a 100 foot wall in front of me that stretched to the horizon each way and was way too tall to overcome.

Jesus eventually showed me how to get past this behemoth of an obstacle, his grace and love got me past it.

Then I finally admitted to you all my sins, refusing to hide them any longer. I said “My life-giving God, I will openly acknowledge my evil actions” And you forgave me!(Psalm 32:5 The Passion Translation).

I met Jesus in the depths of my sin and failings, and he told me that he loved me, and what was more, he showed me the path out into his glory, and now there are words that fly round my head every time that I slip back and think as I used to;

I want to tell you what the Lord has done,
What the Lord has done for me;
He lifted me from the miry clay;
O what a happy day

Sidney Edward Cox (1887-1975)

I still have times where the past drags at me, but as the Lord said to the nation of Israel;

Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See I am doing a new thing’ (Isaiah 43:18 NIV).

The new thing that God was doing in me, was changing me, changing my heart, changing my focus from my sin towards him, “Focus on me” he was saying, just as Paul had reminded the Roman Christians, Jesus was saying to me;

Stop imitating the ideals and opinions of the culture around you, but be inwardly transformed by the Holy Spirit through a total reformation of how you think’ (Romans 12:2 Passion Translation).

What a tough call it was, and it still is, I fall back very easily some days, and others I barely scrape by with a small win. But each and every day I do win, it becomes that little bit easier and I get a little closer to my friend Jesus.

Every time I fall or slip on the narrow path that I am walking, once I have asked for forgiveness for whatever sin I have committed, I remember the words of God;

For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more’ (Jeremiah 31:34 NIV & Hebrews 8:12).

That does not give me or anyone the right to sin and fail God deliberately, I want to change and be more like Jesus, as should we all if we choose to follow the ‘Light of the World’.

But, when we have sinned and asked for forgiveness;

Blessed is those whose lawless deeds are forgiven, and whose sins are covered; blessed is the man against whom the Lord will not count his sin’ (Romans 4:7 ESV).

We are not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, and anybody who thinks they are is deluding themselves, there has only ever been one perfect man, and he died for you and me, he loved us so much that he spread his arms wide and let himself be nailed to a cross. Jesus paid the debt he did not owe, because we owed a debt we could not pay.

Let Jesus show you the way and change your life, just as he changed and continues to change me now;

Not that I have already obtained all of this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me’ (Philippians 3:12 NIV).

I know my failings, but Jesus forgives and forgets them even when I cannot, but;

Rejoice in the Lord always, and again, I say rejoice’ (Israel Hougthon & Aaron Lindsey).

Rejoice in the fact that God has got this, whatever the situation is, follow him, talk to him, and finally but foremost in all things, trust him who created everything, even you.

God is too good not to love what he created and too clever to make a mistake, you and I were created on purpose and for a purpose.

For I know the plans I have for you declares the LORD’ (Jeremiah 29:11 NIV).

And if he has created us, which he did;

You formed my innermost being, shaping my delicate inside, and my intricate outside, and wove them together in my mother’s womb’ (Psalm 139:13 The Passion Translation).

So, God knows us intimately, and we were created for a purpose, a plan that God has for each and every one of us, we just have to learn that plan by asking him.

And if he has a plan for us, then he will always be with us;

I will never leave you alone, never! And I will not loosen my grip on your life’ (Hebrews 13:5 The Passion Translation).

So we are never alone, and God made us, and he gave us a plan, all we need now in understanding and knowledge, God has that for us too;

I hear the LORD saying, “I will stay close to you, instructing and guiding you along the pathway for your life. I will advise you along the way and lead you forth with my eyes as your guide” (Psalm 32:8 The Passion Translation).

And whenever we struggle even knowing all the facts and trusting in God, we should remember how powerful and loving our God is, so loving that he sent Jesus to die in our place (John 3:16), but he also rejoices in us and with us, he knows our pain and our rejoicing, for he is always here with us, remember;

The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing´ (Zephaniah 3:17 – emphasis mine).

What else is there to say, except;

Thank you Jesus”.

a

a

Though the tears may fall
My song will rise
My song will rise to You
Though my heart may fail
My song will rise, my song will rise to You
While there’s breath in my lungs
I will praise You, Lord
In the dead of night, I’ll lift my eyes
I’ll lift my eyes to You
Though the waters rise, I’ll lift my eyes
I’ll lift my eyes to You
While there’s hope in this heart
I will praise You, Lord

The joy of the Lord is my strength!
The joy of the Lord is my strength!
In the darkness I’ll dance
in the shadows I’ll sing
The joy of the Lord is my strength!

When I cannot see You with my eyes
Let faith arise to You
When I cannot feel Your hand in mine
Let faith arise to You
God of mercy and love
I will praise You, Lord
How You shine with glory, Lord of light
I feel alive with You
In Your presence now I come alive
I am alive with You
There is strength when I say
I will praise You, Lord

When sorrow comes my way
You are the shield around me
Always, You remain
My courage in the fight
I hear You call my name
Jesus, I am coming
Walking on the waves
Reaching for Your light!

Joy of the Lord

Rend Collective & Ed Cash

a

Lord, thank you that even in our worst times, you can still see the person created in your image. Lord we ask that you may give us eyes like that so we may always see all people truly as they are, sons and daughters of The Living God. Lord we want people who do not know you, to get to know and love you as we do, and for that we need to see them as you do. Lord please give us strength and wisdom to see them as you do.

Amen

Leave a comment