Bible · Christian · Faith · Father · God · Grace · Jesus · Mercy

Change in the making’ (Change In The Making – J. Pardo, A. Rogers, J. Simmons)

a

Change is good, isn’t it?

Well I suppose it depends upon what, who or where is changing!

If water stays in one point, and there is no movement within the body of water, then it stagnates, so a lovely river would become something not very nice to see or be near, so change is that aspect is good.

The change caused by losing a job for whatever reason, would generally always be bad.

When a child is born, they are normally small and cute, but, they grow and change, or else the life of a parent would be non-stop, and they would probably only ever have one child; but grow they do, grow and change.

As they grow, what the need also changes. When they are a baby, they depend upon their parents for everything, to give them food, when they need their clothes changing, for encouragement to learn to move or walk etc.

When they are older and start school, other people come into the picture and encourage and teach them things that parents may not know or be able to do.

The child’s thinking evolves, and the way they act also changes;

When I was a child, I spoke about childish matters, for I saw things like a child and reasoned like a child. But the day came when I matured, and I set aside my childish ways’ (1 Corinthians 13:11 TPT).

As we get older we make our own decisions, based upon what we have learnt. We decide what is best for us, but even then, those decisions can be influenced by people around us, especially our parents. Deciding whether to follow their thinking, or their life patterns can be one of life’s major decisions in our lives.

Should we go to college or university, should I get an apprenticeship, or start my own business, should I follow the crowd, or should I do what I feel is right!

There are big decisions to make throughout life, involving lots of thought and probably discussions with friends, and maybe even family.

What should I do?

Paul reminds us that we should not necessarily follow the ‘in crowd’;

Do not conform to the pattern of this world’ (Romans 12:2 NIV).

Do not follow the mob, do not do something just because someone else has, it may not be the right thing to do.

When there are problems in the world, sometimes the world hits back, there are riots in places. We do not have to riot along with everyone else, that is not right.

But how do we know what is right or wrong?

Well most people can look to their family. Some people will follow their education and because of that, know what the right thing is that they should do;

as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD’ (Joshua 24:15 NIV).

I would like to think that the statement that Joshua made is the one I can live by. Do not get me wrong, I have made some monumentally stupid decisions in my life, but the underlying factor in them is that God has always been with me, even when I was not with him.

Good and upright is the LORD; therefore he instructs sinners in his ways’ (Psalm 25:8 NIV).

And we are all sinners;

for we all have sinned and are in need of the glory of God’ (Romans 3:23 TPT).

God is always with us whether we trust him or not, and he has promised to never leave us (Hebrews 13:5). When I was at my lowest after I had turned away from God, when I had nowhere to turn, Jesus met me and forgave me, even when I could not forgive myself.

When we become a Christian, however we become one, whether from our early life or coming out of the darkest of dark times, Jesus is always with us and waiting for us to turn to him, trust huim, and learn from him.

The Bible is full of knowledge, truth and teaching;

I hear the LORD saying, “I will stay close to you, instructing and guiding you along the pathway for your life. I will advise you along the way and lead you forth with my eyes as your guide” ‘ (Psalm 32:8 TPT).

DO you in your heart know that you need to change, have you changed to follow Jesus but still have the old ways of life chasing after you, tempting to turn back.

Turn to God again, trust him and learn from the wisdom contained within scripture, and as Joshua and his family declared, say;

as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD’ (Joshua 24:15 NIV).

a

a

There’s a better version of me
That I can’t quite see
But things are gonna change
Right now I’m a total mess and
Right now I’m completely incomplete
But things are gonna change
‘Cause you’re not through with me yet

This is a redemption’s story
With every step that I’m taking
Every day, you’re chipping away
What I don’t need
This is me under construction
This is my pride being broken
And every day I’m closer to who I’m meant to be
I’m a change in the making

Wish I could live more patiently
Wish I could give a little more of me
Without stopping to think twice
Wish I had faith like a little child
Wish I could walk a single mile
Without tripping on my own feet
‘Cause you’re not through with me yet

From the dawn of history
You make new and you redeem
From a broken world to a broken heart
You finish what you start in everything

Like a river rolls into the sea
We’re not who we’re going to be
But things are going to change

I’m living a redemption’s story
With every step that I’m taking
Every day, you’re chipping away
What I don’t need
This is me under construction
This is my pride being broken
And every day I’m closer to who I’m meant to be
I’m a change in the making

I’m a change in the making
I’m not who I’m going to be
I’m moving closer to your glory

Change In The Making (Stories #2)

Jeff Pardo / Alli Rogers / Jenny Simmons

a

Father, we thank you for your amazing love that changes us from who we were to who you know that we can be. Lord we thank you for your grace that saves us and your love that sustains us. Lord give us courage to tell others about you, that they may see you for who you are and change and love you also. Lord we love you.

Amen

Leave a comment